Common Questions Rookie Developers Ask.

Common Questions Rookie Developers Ask.

I was once new to the world of programming and technology. And so because of this fact, I too know some questions that I asked when I was a rookie, and to an extent It was really frustrating when I didn't get answers from anyone ,( I could have easily gotten these answers on Google, but then, I was oblivious to how well I could utilize the internet).

This post is going to be a series as I will be answering some of these questions in details in my future posts. The answers I will give will be both from researching and also personal experiences I or my teammates have had.

Some of these questions are;

  • What is Front-end Development?

  • What is Back-end programming?

  • What is UI/UX Design?

  • What programming language should I learn first?

  • Where do I get tutors and tutorial videos to help me improve my skills?

  • How do I build up my skills and how do I get discovered

  • How long does it take to get a job

For this part of the series, I will be answering the first two questions.

WHAT IS FRONT-END DEVELOPMENT AND BACK-END PROGRAMMING I will like to use a stage-play to explain this. When a group prepares for a stage-play, there are people who are actually going to be acting out the play and there are people that are behind the scenes making things work and making sure that the actor gets elevated from the ground when it is time, they also control the effects that is seen on the stage, The actors give the facial expressions and say the words and wear the costumes and the audience only ever see the actors, but then you will agree with me that the play would have not been a complete success without the help of those behind the scenes. Bringing this explanation to a website, you can call the stage actors the FRONT-END DEVELOPERS and the crew behind the scenes the BACK-END DEVELOPERS.

Front-end development has to do with the designing and developing the physical view of the site and this is done with code. A front-end developer creates websites and applications using web languages such as HTML, CSS, and JavaScript allow users to access and interact with the site or app. When you visit a website, the design elements you see were created by a front-end developer.

While BACK-END DEVELOPMENT refers to the server side of an application and everything that communicates between the database (A database is an organized collection of structured information, or data, typically stored electronically in a computer system) and the browser. Back end Development refers to the server side of development where you are primarily focused on how the site works. It is just about the functionality of the site corresponding to the design the front end developer has made.

There are people who are solely focused on front-end development, while some are solely focused on back-end development. Some other people code both front-end and back-end. They are called full stack engineers. Now It all narrows to what interests you, and when you finally get the interest, focus on it and be the best there will ever be.......

I will be answering the other questions in later posts... Follow and subscribe to my newsletter to get notifications on the later posts......